15 Responses to “The Ten Best Feminist Songs”

  1. nkamrat June 15, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Your article is very interesting. I would be curious to hear comments on my article titled, Politics and Music, on my blog: http://nkamrat.wordpress.com/

  2. Mark June 16, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    This is a great article. I totally agree with your choices. I especially agree with the #1 song. It’s one of the most underrated feminist songs of all time in my opinion. Her role reversal in the video is amazing. As a guy, I feel totally feel awkward and inept whenever this song comes blasting on the radio, especially if there are women around.

  3. Ömer ÇAKIR June 17, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    nice webpage, i liked…

  4. Raybrown June 26, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    This is good blog message, I will keep this in mind. If you add more video and pictures because it helps understanding :)

  5. Ралли June 29, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    Чувствуется сразу, что писал человек хорошо разбирающийся в этой теме

    • ocdtetris June 30, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! Google translation – “One feels at once that he wrote a man well versed in this topic”

  6. Modi Eid July 18, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I liked what I read in this site, great work, I’ll be back later to read more

  7. Seras August 27, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Why the hell is Katy Perry on that list?
    When I look at her I see a woman who sells out her body to please the masses. Same goes for many on this list. That’s got nothing to do with feminism!
    When will you get that feminism isn’t about being free to f**k with everyone and make a song of it? It’s about not having to be sexy and do as you please! If you wanna bring some good songs on this list then how about “I am woman hear me roar” or songs NOT sung by dollies who celebrate how they french-kissed another girl. Just face it Katy Perry, Britney Spears and the like are our worst enemies!

  8. Shugie February 25, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    I’m guessing you are young and new to feminist thought, but have you ever listened to Tori Amos or Joanna Newsom? These women are less mainstream, but, point in case, feminism is everything but mainstream. Therefore, to try and parallel anything pop culture with feminism usually doesn’t work simply because effective feminist thought is far too radical to sell. Feminism doesn’t sell because it doesn’t cater to patriarchy. And we live in patriarchy whether you like it or not. So, what bad-ass women do is try their strongest not to sell out to a male audience and speak their minds and hearts with courage until patriarchy is overturned and displaced with matrifocal values on a political AND social scale once again (pre-history was mostly matriarchal). I agree with the above comment that to match the majority of women you listed with feminism is quite depressing to someone who understands the seriousness of domination, abuse, and rape done to women on a global scale. Also, I understand the necessity of making feminism accessible, but the minute you allow boys in your classroom to make snide remarks and steel the show is the minute that patriarchy perpetuates itself over and over again. The jokes that boys make in your classroom is their conscious and unconscious way of undermining your feelings as a woman and the seriousness of the subject. Light-heartedness is important and necessary when dealing with such a heavy subject, but real women everywhere do not have the same privilege as you do to take a class on feminism because they are being sold into sex slavery or married off to men who are twice their age. Many of the songs you chose are very fun to listen to, but please, give an intelligent feminist some hope, and put some politically savvy, talented and hard working artists on your list. Remember, Feminism is not about playing the boys’ game, or being the next CEO…it’s about changing the game altogether in order to live in a world that is less violent and more humane.

  9. TAPP April 21, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

    Это точно. Полностью поддерживаю высказывания предыдущего автора.

  10. Jason Go July 11, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    Your post is a nice round-up of feminist themes in songs. In a few days I will be posting on my own blog about different feminist messages of songs from the 60′s upto the 2012. My article is actually a summary of what has changed in the focus of the feminism as reflected by the songs that gained much attention on each specific decades…Anyways, I’ll mention your blog as one of the good reads for this topic…

  11. Shasta Odonoghue July 24, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    For me, Shania Twain is the best country singer. She had very great songs in the 90s and i think she is better than Taylor Swift. ,’”‘;

    Regards
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>

  12. onechosenfamily December 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I’d add Christina Aguilera’s “Beautiful” (esp the video) and “Pieces of you” by Jewel.

    I’m glad you didn’t choose any of the man-eater videos where the star woman (women) turn the men into drooling baffoons and then murder them. I don’t quite get that.

  13. Terrance July 27, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    Generally I don’t read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thanks, very great article.

  14. Alyssa Salcido October 13, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    These are great song choices. I love Britney’s “Stronger” and would follow-up with Christina Aguilera’s “Fighter” as well. They’re both similar but I think Aguilera’s approach is a little better because although she disses the guy that lied and cheated on her, she also addresses the importance of learning from past mistakes, moving on and being more capable and in control of her life. Although I think that both songs are kick-butt and empowering, for some reason Christina’s had more of an impact on me. I’d also like to add Shania Twain’s “That Don’t Impress Me Much” because it basically tells women to choose a man not just based on looks, profession, or material possessions alone. It’s one of my favorite feminine songs.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

